Credit crunched

OK – so yesterday I officially left Incisive Media & not entirely of my own volition…

If truth be told I really left a couple of weeks ago and have been swanning around an island in the South-West of France enjoying half term with the girls; but I was still on the payroll so I could legitimately treat it as an holiday.

No more.

My P45 arrived in the post yesterday. My last monthly salary cheque is in the bank & I am now looking for a interesting new job.

I feel no bitterness towards the company. I am extremely grateful for the time I have spent at Risk Waters and then Incisive. I have learnt a lot and met some fantastic people. I wish everyone who is still there all the best  but now it is time to move on.

Never having been made redundant before I also now think back to times when I have sat on the other side of the table.

Over the course of my career I have had many difficult conversations with good & enthusiastic employees who, generally through no fault of their own, just happened to be in the wrong place at the wrong time. Their industry sector might have been struggling or the company might have taken on a lot of debt at an inopportune time – all of which led to their job suddenly being ‘at risk’.

Those conversations are some of the hardest I have ever had to have but I always said that, while things might seem terrible now, I bet you in 6 months time that you look back and say it was the best thing that ever happened.

I guess I’ll get a chance to see first hand if I have been spinning people a line for all these years…

Rory.

(Photograph by Murray_Fortesque on Flickr)

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Credit crunched

  1. Pingback: » Credit crunched « Rory Brown

  2. Pingback: Structural or cyclical? « Rory Brown

Leave a Reply

